DHARMA TALKS

If you'd like to make a donation, click here.

2019-07-14: Mindfulness and Intimacy

Jul. 16, 2019

Dharma Talk by Guest Speaker Ben Connelly from Minnesota Zen Meditation Center, on Sunday, July 14, 2019.

2019-07-07 Practicing Interdependence

Jul. 16, 2019

Dharma Talk by Toku Scott on Sunday, July 7, 2019.

2019-06-30 Generosity

Jul. 16, 2019

What does real compassion look like and how do I get there? How the 6 paramitas can give us a tangible way to put our compassion in action in every day life.

Dharma Talk by Flying Fish Barbara Murphy on Sunday, June 30, 2019.

2019-06-23 A Life of Offering (The Bodhisattva’s Four Methods of Guidance)

Jul. 16, 2019

Dharma Talk by Shodo Spring on Sunday, June 23, 2019.

2019-06-16: Diamond Banner as Father Who Saves All Beings

Jul. 16, 2019

Dharma Talk by Sosan Theresa Flynn on June 16, 2019 (Father’s Day).

2019-06-09: Cultivating Compassion: Working with the Compost of Life

Jun. 12, 2019

Dharma Talk by Taizan Alford on Sunday, June 9, 2019.

What to do when life does not give you the beauty you were hoping for or when your shortcomings appear all too apparent? Taizan Alford, a priest in training at Clouds in Water, talks about how practicing with the tools of Zen have enabled more of an embrace of all of life rather than running away, blaming someone else, or falling into despair.

2019-06-02: The Breaking Point: Regaining Presence of Mind

Jun. 12, 2019

Dharma Talk by Guest Teacher Femi Akinnagbe on Sunday, June 2, 2019.

Harried by constant demands on our time and attention, we often skim through life, unable to fully appreciate all the moment has to offer. Living at this breakneck pace comes with the cost of connection and we move through life disconnected from our environment, each other and perhaps most importantly…ourselves. How, then, might we find peace? Allow for presence? Or invite ease? The solution is as simple as coming home, back into the body. The body offers vast stores of untapped wisdom that we may use in service of our cultivating liberation through mindful awareness.

2019-05-26: Buddhas Turn the Wheel of the Dharma in the Midst of Fierce Flames

Jun. 12, 2019

Dharma Talk by Guest Teacher Tenshin Reb Anderson Roshi on Sunday, May 26, 2019. The first part of the talk was lost.

2019-05-19: The Ten Inexhaustible Treasuries: Ethics

May. 27, 2019

Dharma Talk by Sosan Theresa Flynn on Sunday, May 19, 2019.

2019-05-12: The World Could Be Otherwise

May. 14, 2019

Dharma Talk by Zoketsu Norman Fisher on Sunday, May 12, 2019.

2019-05-05: Nanyue’s “It’s Not Like Something”

May. 07, 2019

Dharma Talk by Genjō Sam Conway on Sunday, May 5, 2019.

2019-04-28: Birth and Death

May. 01, 2019

Dharma Talk by Sosan Theresa Flynn on Sunday, May 28, 2019.

2019-04-21: Hearing the Cries of the World

Apr. 23, 2019

Dharma Talk by Kyoku Tracey Walen on Sunday, April 21, 2019.

2019-04-14: When Cold and Heat Come, How Can We Avoid Them?

Apr. 23, 2019

Dharma Talk by Myoshin Diane Benjamin on Sunday, April 14, 2019.

2019-04-07: The Birth of Buddha

Apr. 11, 2019

Dharma Talk by Sosan Flynn on Sunday, April 7, 2019.

2019-03-31: The Twelve Links

Apr. 11, 2019

Dharma Talk by Flying Fish Barbara Murphy on Sunday, March 31, 2019.

2019-03-24: A Sort of Way-Seeking Talk

Apr. 09, 2019

Dharma Talk by Myo-On Susan Hagler on Sunday, March 24, 2019.

2019-03-17: Self-Fulfillment Samadhi

Apr. 09, 2019

Dharma Talk by Sosan Theresa Flynn on Sunday, March 17, 2019.

2019-03-10: “Freak Out”

Mar. 13, 2019

Dharma Talk by Gentle Dragon Kennedy on Sunday, March 10, 2019.

2019-03-03: On “Faith,” with the help of Dogen and Seng T’san

Mar. 06, 2019

Dharma Talk by Susan Schoenbaum on Sunday, March 3, 2019.

Sometimes we think that “faith” means believing in something. But this is not what “faith” means in our Buddhist tradition. We will consider what Dogen and Seng T’san may have meant by this very important word and how we may enact it in our daily lives.

2019-02-17: Emptiness

Feb. 26, 2019

Dharma Talk by Keiyu Ken Ford on Sunday, February 17, 2019.

2019-02-10: Zen in the Age of Anxiety

Feb. 12, 2019

Dharma Talk by Guest Teacher Tim Burkett of Minnesota Zen Meditation Center on Sunday, February 10, 2019.

2019-02-03: Bliss-Bestowing Hands

Feb. 12, 2019

Dharma Talk by Myo-O Marilyn Habermas-Scher on Sunday, February 3, 2019.

2019-01-27: Way Seeking Mind Talk

Jan. 29, 2019

Way Seeking Mind Talk by Katheleen Avila on Sunday, January 27, 2019.

2019-01-20: Dismantling Whiteness

Jan. 24, 2019

Dharma Talk by Sosan Flynn and Genjo Sam Conway on Sunday, January 20, 2019.

2019-01-13: “Interdependence: What is it Worth? What is it Good For?”

Jan. 17, 2019

Dharma Talk by Gentle Dragon Kennedy on Sunday, January 13, 2019.

2019-01-06: “The Intimacy of Zen Practice”

Jan. 17, 2019

Dharma Talk by Myoshin Diane Benjamin on Sunday, January 6, 2019.

2018-12-30: Legends of Bodhidharma

Jan. 03, 2019

Dharma Talk by Kikan Mike Howard on Sunday, December 30, 2018. See YouTube for the slides with audio:

2018-12-23: Thich Nhat Hanh, Lady Mahamaya, and Transgender Spiritual Care

Jan. 03, 2019

Dharma Talk by Guest Speaker Ayo Yetunde on Sunday, December 23, 2018.

2018-12-16: Without A Doubt

Dec. 18, 2018

Dharma Talk by Satya Scott on Sunday, December 16, 2018.